A Night to Remember, 16 Media Practitioners Get Recognition Awards

It was one of the Most Memorable gathering for media practitioners who are members of the Negros Press Club (NPC), known as the oldest press club in the Philippines, having been organized way back in 1936, five years before the outbreak of the second world war in 1941.

NPC Media Excellence Awardee : Angelo H. Angolo (ABS-CBN), Chrysee G. Samillano-Visayan Daily Star, Carla N. Cañet-Sunstar Bacolod, Juan Elmer H. Ubaldo -DYEZ Aksyon Radyo, Barbara Ann P. Mijares -ABS-CBN, Ma. Chona V. Gosiaoco -DYAF Radyo Veritas, Nida A. Buenafe- Visayan Daily Star, Posthumous Awardee for Charlie P. Pabular-DYEZ Aksyon Radyo).* (Jun de los Reyes/NDB photo)

See gallery...

We refer to Saturday’s 3rd NPC Media Excellence and the Rotary Club of Bacolod East (RCBE) Media Lifetime Achievement Awards held at the Social hall of the Provincial Capitol.

It was a rare opportunity for a reunion of sorts, a yearly affair which gathers together for a night of fellowship of a renewal of camaraderie and a recollection of happy moments among the club’s senior members, of the younger generations, a renewal of friendships often punctuated by lack of time considering the busy schedules of mediamen and women who often have to run after the news and in haste to get the development of events which their media outlets require for better service to inform, educate and entertain their audiences, readers and listeners through the years.

Thanks for the joint efforts of the men and women of the NPC headed by Lady President Teresa D. Ellera and the RCBE through Past President and Bacolod City Councilor Sonya Verdeflor, Acting President and also former NPC Pres. Carla N. Cañet, last Saturday’s joint undertaking was a great success, something to remember.

For the first time in the history of the NPC, incumbent Lady Pres. Teresa Ellera presented three presidential citation awards to three senior members in recognition of their exemplary commitment and passion to the media profession in addition to the Media Excellence Award to eight younger but hardworking media practitioners.

The presidential citations were presented to Miss Ninfa R. Leonardia, Visayan Daily Star editor-in chief & president; Ruperto G. Toga, editor-in-chief & president, Negros Daily Bulletin; and veteran broadcast journalist Vicente “Vic” Mercardo of Merkado Publiko over DYRL Abyan Radyo.

The Media Excellence Awards were presented to Carla N. Cañet, Sun Star Bacolod; Angelo H. Angolo, ABS-CBN Bacolod; Chrysee G. Samillano, Visayan Daily Star; Juan Elmer H. Ubaldo, DYEZ Aksyon Radyo Bacolod; Barbara Ann P. Mijares, ABS-CBN Bacolod; Ma. Chona V. Gosiaoco, (Tatak Negrense) DYAF Radyo Veritas; Nida A. Buenafe, Visayan Daily Star; and a posthumous award to the late Charlie P. Pabular, DYEZ Aksyon Radyo Bacolod.

The RCBE Media Lifetime Achievement Awardees on the other hand, were presented by Rotary District 3850 Governor Ronnie C. Gabalda to the following: Jaz de Jesus – Madrigal (Kahapon Lamang), Bombo Radyo Bacolod; George R. Liza, Scoop Bacolod; Sammy A. Nuarbe, DYRL; Ray Carmona, RPN DYKB; Cyrus M. Garde, Negros Daily Bulletin and Nicanor Nick Mariño, RMN-DYHB.

Among the guests of the occasion were Bacolod Congressman Greg G. Gasataya, City Administrator John N. Orola, Jr., Bacolod Councilor Sonya Verdeflor and Ann Marie Palermo, Mrs. Laarni T. Aguilar representing Congressman Alfredo Albee Benitez, Eric T. Loretizo and Angel Verdeflor representing Negros Occ. Gov. Alfredo Marañon, Jr., Rotary District 3850 Gov. Ronnie Gabalda, Fr. Felix Pasquin, San Sebastian Cathedral rector and Fr. Aniceto Mao Buenafe, parish priest of St. John Nepomuceno Parish in Sum-ag, Bacolod City.

The NPC presidents present were, aside from Ms. Leonardia and Pert Toga, Modesto P. Saonoy, Carla Cañet, John Elmer Ubaldo, George R. Liza, Cyrus Garde, Eddie dela Fuente, Rhey Siason, Edmundo King Aspero, Dolores Epacta-Miranda, Dolly S. Yasa and Jun Julita.

Theme of the Award Rites was: “Celebrating Excellence – Stepping up to the Challenge of Community Journalism in the Modern Times.”

Among the memorable prizes that were presented to the Media awardees were a Certificate of Commendation, a personalized mini-trophy and some valuable gifts.

Two staff members – Edith B. Colmo and Jun delos Reyes were lucky enough to win half sacks of rice and mystery gifts during the raffle at the close of the night’s program.

Freelance press photographer Archie Alipalo was the lucky winner of a refrigerator which was the grand prize of the evening which winded up at about 10 p.m.*

See gallery...