By Edith Colmo
Negros Daily Bulletin

For three consecutive years, the Negros Press Club has elected lady journalists to lead the group of its members in the fourth estate.

Over the weekend, Teresa Ellera-Dulla, news reporter of Sunstar Bacolod won the presidency against her male opponent by 56 votes over Aquilino “Boy” Ciocon of Radio Veritas who got 29 votes. Ellera succeeds Dolores Epacta, editor of Negros Weekly, as immediate past president. Epacta succeeded Carla Cañet, reporter of Sun Star Bacolod who served as president of NPC in 2014.

Newly-elected officers and Board of Directors of the Negros Press Club. President - Teresa Ellera, Vice- President - Babes Gantalao, Secretary - Erwin Nicavera, Treasurer - Glazyl Masculino, Auditor - Sheila Gelera, Board of Directors - Mark Salanga, Serge Santillan, Merlinda Pedrosa, Hernan Garciniego, Dolly Yasa, Edgar Lucasan, Alvin Grava, Eugene Adiong and Rox Estrella.* (Jun de los Reyes/NDB photo)

Ellera assured her fellow media practitioners that NPC will be in good hands under her leadership. She also appealed for their cooperation.

Babes Gantalao, of Radyo Natin-Cadiz City won as vice president over Henceboy Cestina of RPN DYKB.

Erwin Nicavera of Sunstar Bacolod was unopposed for secretary; while Glyzel Masculino of Watchmen-Bacolod defeated her male rival Jun Gaton of Negros Daily Bulletin for treasurer; and Shiela May Gelera of Visayan Daily Star defeated Chito Berjit of Radyo Veritas for the position of auditor.

The board of directors elected were, Mark Salanga (ABS-CBN), Serge Santillan (RMN-DYHB) and Merlinda Pedrosa (Sunstar-Bacolod) who tied in second place, followed by Hernan Garciniego (VDS), Dolly Yasa (Daily Guardian), Alvin Grava (Aksyon Radyo DYEZ), Eugene Adiong (NDB) and Rox Estrella.

It was a landslide victory for the Teresa Team actually, except Gantalao, an independent.

The NPC COMELEC was composed of past presidents Edmund Aspero (Radyo Veritas), Ruperto Toga (president, Negros Daily Bulletin), Modesto Saonoy (VDS), and Elsie Jolingan (past president).

Aspero said due to the fact that majority of the members of NPC are women, it is just natural that women will elect a woman candidate.

Epacta expressed gratitude to the members for their support during her administration as president of the press club.

With over 150 members as of this date, NPC is the oldest press club which is now on its 80th year in the country organized in 1936 which is even older than the National Press Club of the Philippines. It has produced public leaders like Cong. Evelio Leonardia and Mayor Monico Puentevella, who are both past presidents of the Club. Other former presidents were former Congressmen Carlos Hilado and Inocencio “Puwaki” Ferrer, former Mayor Aurelio Locsin, Sr., Vicente Remitio, former City Councilor Bert Drilon and Rinaldo “Rex” Remetio and other prominent Negrenses and Bacoleños.*